Lily pads at the Bohemian

Celebration series (3)

24×30

Acrylic on canvas

Lake Rianhard is at the heart of Celebration and one of the most prominent buildings is the Bohemian hotel. It’s style, like the rest of Celebration is nostalgic. The hotel is surrounded by the lake on three sides. There is a nice paved path around the lake, so I have no shortage photos from different angles.

I choose this one as I loved the lily pads and the drama of the sky. A moment in time where everything seemed perfect. Sadly when I returned recently all the lily pads were gone from this section, the water wasn’t as still, and not a cloud in the sky. I’ve loved Monet’s paintings of lily pads, all the colors, the size, the attention to how season and time of day changed the subject. Here the sky and the lily pads play against each other. When I bumped up the contrast in my photo I could see different tones of blue that added depth and interest. It was a challenge to balance the detail of the building with the water and sky that was more impressionistic.

Moments are fleeting. At times I miss opportunities. My desire is to enjoy the moments as they come, be as present as possible, and look to my source of strength when times are less picturesque.

Leave a comment